Ottawa Adult Soccer Club

Wales, Australia & Costa Rica qualify for the World Cup

The 32 finalists for the Qatar World Cup are now confirmed following a round of play off games.

UEFA Play Off - Wales v Ukraine

Wales qualified for their first World Cup since 1958 when they beat Ukraine at a raucous Cardiff City stadium. An own goal from Andriy Yarmolenko was good enough to see Wales reach Qatar, although the home side were indebted to a fine performance from goalkeeper Wayne Hennessey.

Wales will join Group B and will start their tournament against The United States before playing Iran and then England.

Inter-Confederation Play Off - Australia v Peru

Australia became the 31st team to book their place at the 2022 World Cup after beating Peru on penalties in an intercontinental play-off in Qatar.

This will be Australia's fifth World Cup in a row, having qualified every time since 2006. They will be in Group D alongside holders France, Denmark and Tunisia.

Inter-Confederation Play Off - Costa Rica v New Zealand

Costa Rica beat New Zealand 1-0 in the final intercontinental playoff to complete the 32 finalists who will play in this year’s World Cup finals in Qatar.

In Doha, Costa Rica took an early lead that they kept until the final whistle when Joel Campbell scored after three minutes.

Costa Rica’s victory means they will take their place in Group E in Qatar, along with Spain, Germany and Japan. It will be their third successive finals after they reached the quarter-finals in 2014 and then went out at the group stage in 2018.

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram